The New Season
Highlights of the 2017-18 season include "Cabaret," "A Christmas Carol," and the return of "Backbeard."
A Home for Theatre
The Theatre Institute at Sage provides quality live theatre and arts-in-education programming to Capital Region youth, educators and residents.
Saturdays on Stage
Join your fellow young performers every Saturday morning for an exciting exploration of the world of theatre. Learn more...
The New Season
Highlights of the 2017-18 season include "Cabaret," "A Christmas Carol," and the return of "Backbeard."
A Home for Theatre
The Theatre Institute at Sage provides quality live theatre and arts-in-education programming to Capital Region youth, educators and residents.
Saturdays on Stage
Join your fellow young performers every Saturday morning for an exciting exploration of the world of theatre. Learn more...

Backbeard Sails to New York City!

Backbeard at TIS

Backbeard:  A New Musical,  has been named a Grand Jury Selection of the New York Musical Festival’s Next Link Project! TIS will bring the production to New York City this summer for five performances from July 31 to Aug. 6.  Tickets are available at the New York Musical Festival website.

Now in its fourteenth year, the 2017 Festival will take place July 10 through August 6 at locations around midtown Manhattan in New York City. Learn more about the festival at www.nymf.org.

Announcing the 2017-18 Season

Cabaret
October 6 – 15, 2017

Music and Lyrics by Kander and Ebb
Book by Joe Masteroff
Directed by Leigh Strimbeck

In a Berlin nightclub, as the 1920’s draw to a close, a garish Master of Ceremonies welcomes the audience and assures them they will forget all their troubles at the Cabaret. With the Emcee’s bawdy songs as wry commentary, Cabaret explores the dark, heady, and tumultuous life of Berlin’s natives and expatriates as Germany slowly yields to the emerging Third Reich.

Mature Content: Recommended for Ages 16+

Fri. Oct. 6, 7:30 pm
Sat. Oct. 7, 7:30 pm
Sun. Oct. 8, 2 pm
Thur. Oct. 12, 7:30 pm
Fri. Oct. 13, 10 am & 7:30 pm
Sat. Oct. 14, 7:30 pm
Sun. Oct. 15, 2 pm

Santaland Diaries
November 25 – 26, 2017

By David Sedaris
Adapted for the stage by Joe Mantello

Based on the true chronicles of David Sedaris’ experience as Crumpet the Elf in Macy’s Santaland display, this cult classic riffs on a few of Sedaris’ truly odd encounters with his fellow man during the height of the holiday crunch.

Recommended for Ages 16+

Sat. Nov. 25, 2 & 7:30 pm
Sun. Nov. 26, 2 pm

A Christmas Carol
December 1 – 14, 2017

By Charles Dickens
Adapted for the stage by David Bunce
Directed by David Baecker

A new adaptation of the holiday classic comes to life when you and our family join Tiny Tim, Bob Cratchit, and, of course, Ebenezer Scrooge on a fantastical journey through Christmas Past, Present, and Future. Enjoy the timeless message of hope, please, and love, in Charles Dickens’ masterpiece.

Recommended for Ages 8+

Fri. Dec. 1, 10 am & 7:30 pm
Sat. Dec. 2, 7:30 pm
Sun. Dec. 3, 3 pm
Wed. Dec. 6, 10 am
Thur. Dec. 7, 10 am
Fri. Dec. 8, 10 am & 7:30 pm
Sat. Dec. 9, 7:30 pm
Sun. Dec. 10, 2 pm
Tues. Dec. 12, 10:30 am
Wed. Dec. 13, 10 am
Thur. Dec. 14, 10 am

The Giver
February 8 – 18, 2018

By Lois Lowry
Adapted for the stage by Eric Coble
Directed by David Bunce

In Jonas’ world, there is no war or fear or pain. There are also no choices. At 12, he is assigned to wok the “The Giver” and receive all the memories of real pain and real joy. Now Jonas will learn the truth about life — and the hypocrisy of his utopian world. Can Jonas and the Giver unite to change their world forever?

Recommended for Ages 9+

Thurs. Feb. 8, 10 am
Fri. Feb. 9, 10 am & 7:30 pm
Sat. Feb. 10, 7:30 pm
Sun. Feb. 11, 2 pm
Tues. Feb. 13, 10:30 am
Wed. Feb. 14, 10 am
Thur. Feb. 15, 10 am
Sat. Feb. 17, 7:30 pm
Sun. Feb. 18, 2 pm

Tribes
April 13 – 22, 2018

By Nina Raine
Directed by David Baecker

Billy was born deaf into a hearing family. He has adapted brilliantly to their unconventional ways, but they’ve never bothered to return the favor. It’s not until he meets Sylvia, a young woman on the brink of deafness, that he finally understands what it means to be heard.

Recommended for Ages 14+

Fri. April 13, 7:30 pm
Sat. April 14, 7:30 pm
Sun. April 15, 2 pm
Fri. April 20, 10 am & 7:30 pm
Sat. April 21, 7:30 pm
Sun. April 22, 2 pm

Backbeard: A New Musical
May 30 – June 10, 2018

Book by Matthew McElligott, Larry Tuxbury & Brian Sheldon
Music by Michael Musial
Lyrics by Matthew McElligott, Michael Musial & Larry Tuxbury
Directed by Michael Musial

This rollicking musical tells the tale of Backbeard, the hairiest pirate who ever lived, and his quest to answer the question, “How should a pirate look?” When a rowdy birthday party ruins his clothes, a pair of persuasive tailors convince him to try a vibrant new outfit of patterned trousers, a colorful coat, and a pig. Can the fearsome pirate win the acceptance of the Pirate Council, the townspeople, and even his own crew? Found out in this high-spirited story of courage, acceptance, and standing up for who you are.

Recommended for All Ages!

Wed. May 30, 10 am
Thurs. May 31, 10 am
Fri. June 1, 10 am & 7:30 pm
Sat. June 2, 7:30 pm
Sun. June 3, 2 pm
Tues. June 5, 10:30 am
Wed. June 6, 10 am
Thur. June 7, 10 am
Fri. June 8, 10 am & 7:30 pm
Sat. June 9, 7:30 pm
Sun. June 10, 2 pm